Documenting the years (#1)

Last year I decided I wanted to document my life in more ways than just taking pictures and keeping them on my mobile phone forever. So I bought a simple notebook, customised it a bit and my 2012-book was born.
In this book I’ve written a lot of things, like what bands I wanted to check out, quotes and poems I liked and even made (so surprising) quite a few lists with what movies I had seen or which books I had read and more like that. I also stuck in some photos and other things I wanted to keep. I am pretty glad with how the book turned out and when I flip through it, I immediately know what moment is connected with a certain picture or quote.
The only downside to my book is that I hadn’t started it until somewhere in June of even July. This means that I have only documented about half of 2012 (the book is, as a result, only halfway full). So, this year I decided to start my 2013-book on January 1st and I will have a completed book at the end of the year.
Some goals in the book are (part of) a goal on my day zero list, but that’s okay. Day zero lasts for about three years and the book will help me to keep on track with the reading challenge and other goals.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These are both my books. The dark blue one is the 2012-book (as you can see) and the one below that is the 2013-book.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Open the 2012-book and this is what you see. ‘Keep calm and don’t blink’ is a phrase I’ve come across a lot on Tumblr (mostly) and I like it a lot. The ‘Keep calm’ part of the phrase originally comes from a poster that the English government made during World War 2. I believe the original one says  ‘Keep calm and carry on’.
The ‘don’t blink’ part comes from the Doctor Who series and is said in an episode with the Weeping Angels. I don’t know which episode it is right now, but it’s with David Tennant and it is awesome. I love the episode and I highly recommend you to watch it (but then again, I recommend you to watch the whole series, so you should just do that).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The pages above are filled with one cinema ticket and three other tickets. The cinema ticket is pretty self-explanatory, but the other tickets I will digress on a little bit. They’re for an evening called ‘Doctor House evening’ and it’s an evening organised by an association on my university. They invite you to watch a House episode with two doctors who, together with the students, will explain what situations in the episode could be real and what situations would never ever happen and are just bullshit.
It sounds a bit lame, but I blame my English skills for not being able to explain it better. I think it’s a really fun thing to go to and I’ve gone to all the Doctor House evenings there have been since I started university.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

More cinema tickets.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I think everyone has seen something like this before and I really liked the idea, some I’ve made my own with artists I like. It’s a bit outdated though, so I will make a new one in my 2013-book.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The left page has some more artists I listen to. The right page was a photo, but I don’t know if my friends appreciate being shown here, so I’ve covered them.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pretty self-explanatory page. It isn’t finished, though. I think I will make this page again, but then just make it one page and not a double one. When I listen to music, I normally don’t listen really listen to the lyrics specifically.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The poem on the right page, oh. my. god. I love it. LOVE IT. I’ve read it so many times and it just is beautiful every single time.
The picture on the left page is a picture of me with some friends, but I’ve covered my friend with some paper again. The person who isn’t covered, is me, because I know I don’t mind being here.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The front of my 2013-book.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A goal I made to reach in 2013: read 35 books. I was stupid enough to start numbering on the right page and had to continue on the left page, because I want them to be next to each other. As you can see I’m finished with The Immortal Instruments series (or at least, I’m finished with the books that are out so far) and I will post a review soon (when I’m done crying over the couple that broke up in the last chapter of Lost Souls, that is).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I want to watch 50 movies in 2013.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My infamous 26 alphabetically titled movies challenge.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cinema ticket.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And another cinema ticket.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And at last, I wanted to show what I use to stick my pictures and all in. I don’t know what it’s called in Dutch (photo splits is obviously English), but it’s like double side tape, but thin and already cut into small pieces. It’s so handy, I use it for everything.

One thought on “Documenting the years (#1)

  1. Pingback: Liebster Award | imjustthisawesome

Leave a Reply

