51. Make my own sushi

I had already crossed this goal off my list, but since I made some sushi again yesterday evening, I decided to share some pictures with you guys. But first, I’d like to state that I am in no way someone who knows a lot about how to make sushi and every Japanese person (or anybody who knows something about how to make sushi) will probably laugh his/her ass off when he/she sees my attempt at it. Still, this was good enough for my friend and I. We had a lot of fun making it, really enjoyed eating it and we’re definitely doing it again sometime.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A close-up shot from some of the sushi. The yellow stuff is egg I scrambled, the pink stuff in the front and the back is salmon. As you can see, we rolled the sushi so that the nori is circled inside the rice (wow, look at my professional terms. We really need to learn some terminology).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I first cooked the rice (it says how to do so on the packaging, so this wasn’t a problem). Then, we put it on the nori sheet. Not a thick layer, but we didn’t make it see-through either. The rice is really sticky, so it’s best to make your fingers wet. That way the rice won’t stick as much and is at least a little bit better to handle.
As you can see, the pan I cooked the rice in, is already empty. This is the last roll we made.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The plate has some mackerel stacked on it. It tasted so good, we kept snacking on it while making the sushi. We ended up only making one roll with it, though, because we ran out of rice sooner than we’d expected. I don’t remember what is in the two sushi rolls on either side of the pan, but that’s how they looked before we cut them into bite sized pieces.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This sushi roll has salmon wrapped in it. The rice didn’t reach the end of the nori sheet, but we just cut off the ends (and ate them) before stacking the other pieces neatly on a plate.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is how we cut the roll. We have bought sushi before, so we could estimate the width of the individual pieces. They didn’t all end up the same width, of course, but that’s not that much of a problem. They didn’t have to be perfect.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Stacking all our sushi onto one plate. In the first picture, the rolls stacked on the left have scallions (if that’s the correct translation, I’m not totally sure. In Dutch, is called ‘lente ui’ or ‘bosui’. They look kind of like leek, but very small and are onion-ish) and on the right are filled with scrambled egg.
The next picture has another row added to the first, with on the left sushi filled with cucumber and on the right with salmon and cucumber. In the picture below the second, the hole in the middle is filled with sushi packed with salmon. The last two pictures have two more rows stacked on top of the middle ones and they’re mostly filled with mackerel and also some salmon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We ate the sushi with soy sauce (I drench mine in them, my friend just dips them in it. Just a matter of taste) and we also had some wasabi-flavoured sesame seeds. Of course, we ate them with chop sticks. Speaking of chop sticks, my friend and I were wondering how Asian people would view our ‘technique’ of eating with chop sticks. I think that we’re pretty skilled with them, for Dutch standards. I am really curious as to how Asian people think we handle them.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And we’re all done! I think we had 48 pieces (I counted them, but I forgot) and we were pretty full after we finished them all.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One thought on “51. Make my own sushi

Leave a Reply

