About books and movies (#2)

I have read a few book and seen a few movies since my last post about books and movies, so here is something to keep you updated.

First, books.
I have read ‘The mortal instruments’ series by Cassandra Clare and even though I loved them, I will not yet give my opinion on these books yet. The last book is yet to come out and I want to read the whole series before I review them. It’s a bit uncommon, I know. I have seen a lot of BookTubers who have already posted reviews on the series, but I want to wait. I have a post up about the first book in the series, but I can summarize that post just by this sentence: I love it and I want to read the other books and then I will post a review. So, basically, that’s pretty much the same is this is.
I believe the last book comes out in March 2014 (and we have to wait a fucking whole year), but you can definitely expect a review on the series by April 2014.

I also have read the first two books in the ‘Women of the Otherworld’ series by Kelley Armstrong. In contrary to what I’m saying above, I will give my opinion on these books right now. I don’t love the series as much as I love ‘The mortal instruments’ series and I don’t really know yet if I want to read the rest of the series, since there are eleven more books. I like the series, but it’s not that good and I sometimes just skipped through pages I didn’t like. I wouldn’t really recommend them. I mean, they’re definitely not that bad, but the theme (werewolves, mainly) is pretty popular right now and I’d bet you can find a much better series on werewolves if that’s why you would want to read the series.

And last but not least, I have read the first book in the ‘Song of ice and fire’ series by G. R. R. Martin: A game of thrones. I have already seen the tv series, so I roughly knew the story (didn’t know what part of the first book was which part of the tv series, though). I liked the book, but I think I have to read a couple more books to really love the series. The first book had a lot of Eddard chapters and I already knew he was going to die (sorry if I completely ruined everything for you know, but everybody dies or so I’ve heard) and I just wanted his part to be over. I really like Arya and Dany and I kept looking out for their chapters. So, long story short, I would recommend the series, but I have to read a few books more first to be completely sure.

And now, movies. I have seen five movies since my last post. The first movie I saw, was ‘The art of getting by’ and hmm. I didn’t really like it. I also don’t really have a lot to say about it. I thought it was a bit boring and even though I usually like Emma Roberts, I wasn’t really impressed by her in this movie. It’s just meh.

The second movie I saw, was ‘Now is good’. It’s the movie adaption of the book ‘Before I die’ by Jenny Downham. The first time I read the book, I didn’t really like it, but I read it a second time and I liked it a lot better the second time. I don’t plan on seeing the movie a second time. I liked it, but it wasn’t spectacular. It did follow the story pretty good and I did cry, but I didn’t love it like I love ‘My sister’s keeper’ (go watch that movie now, but make sure you’ve got tissues).

Third movie I saw was ‘The Hobbit’, again. I’ve seen it twice in the cinema and I still completely love it. I love Bilbo, I love Kili, I love Thorin and I’d marry them all (though not all at the same time). It’s just, wow. The scene where the thunder storms (forgive me if I’ve got that wrong) fight with each other, it just gives me chills every time.

After that, I watched ‘Pride and prejudice’ (the one with Keira Knightley). I am kind of ashamed to say that I’ve never read the book by Jane Austen (I am currently reading it, though!) and I wanted to start watched the ‘Lizzie Bennet Diaries’ (a series on YouTube, look it up), but I thought it’d be better to understand when I knew the story first, so I decided to watch the movie. I liked it, though I did think they could’ve picked a more handsome mister Darcy (yes, I’m that shallow).

The last movie I saw, was ‘Rise of the guardians’. It’s an animated movie and I just loved it. It’s just nice to watch when you’ve got nothing else to do and I’ve always liked animated movies and this one was no exception. I wouldn’t watch this in the cinema, I wouldn’t pay that much for it, but it really is a pretty good movie and when it’s a rainy sunday afternoon and you’ve got nothing to do, I suggest you watch this movie.

Leave a Reply

