2. Donate blood and 3. Find out my blood type

ce16aefa205811e398e622000aa819f6_7

Two goals at once, yeah!

Last year I decided I wanted to donate blood, because why not. I’ve got enough and can spare some for someone who needs it.
So I went to a blood bank and signed up. The first time you go to a blood bank, you don’t get to donate blood immediately. They measure you, ask some questions and take some blood for control and to make sure you’re allowed to give blood.
I went to do this last year and after that, I received a couple of invites to donate blood, but somehow something came up every time and I didn’t get to go.

I got another invite to donate blood last week and today, I went by the blood bank to make it happen. I found out my blood type (which I won’t put here, since it is kind of private) and I got to donate blood.

I think I underestimated donated blood a bit. I didn’t think it would really have an effect on me, but near the end I got really light headed and the person who took my blood had to recline my  chair so that my head was the lowest point of my body. Once the needle was out, I had to stay for about fifteen more minutes until I could stand up again without feeling like I was going to faint.
The needle didn’t bother me at all, by the way, and in the beginning I didn’t really feel my ‘blood loss’ either.

After I was well enough to leave, I walked to my bus and when I was almost at my stop, the dizziness hit me again. It’s not really dizziness, but it’s just feeling like you’re going to faint there and then and it’s really unpleasant. I felt very weak and had to sit down when I got home. I’m okay now, though.

I will be giving blood again, even though I don’t really like how I felt. Donating blood isn’t meant to make you feel strong and powerful physically. It did make me feel good about myself mentally though and that’s more than enough.

One thought on “2. Donate blood and 3. Find out my blood type

  1. Having read this I believed it was extremely enlightening.
    I appreciate you spending some time and energy to put this
    short article together. I once again find myself spending way too much
    time both reading and commenting. But so what, it was still worthwhile!

Leave a Reply

