Recipe: Mocha cupcakes

I’ve got some food related goals on my list and since this weekend is Easter, I decided I would try some new recipes. In my head, recipes are more like ‘real’ meals, like dinner. I didn’t make dinner, but since I followed a recipe for this, it still counts.

As you can read in the title, I’ve made mocha cupcakes. I got the recipe of a Dutch supermarket site, Albert Heijn. They were pretty easy to make and I love how they taste. But since I suspect not all my followers are Dutch, I will give you the recipe in English and also provide some nice pictures to go along with it!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What you’ll need:
125 grams of butter (room temperature)
125 grams of light brown sugar
1 sachet of vanilla sugar
2 eggs (room temperature)
125 grams of self-raising flour
3 tablespoons of milk (the recipe says you’ll need whole milk, but I just used semi-skimmed milk)
2 teaspoons of instant espresso
50 grams of extra dark chocolate (at least 72% cacao), cut in small pieces
100 grams of white chocolate
Cupcake papers (at least 12)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What you’ll need to do:
First of all, preheat your oven to 200°C. Line the cupcake tin with your paper holders. Now mix the butter, brown sugar and vanille suger together until it’s a creamy mass. Add the eggs and mix until they’re completely dissolved. Add the self-raising flour and blend it well. Mix the milk and instant coffee in. Add three-quarters of the small pieces of dark chocolate.
Now divide the batter into the cupcake papers and bake them in the oven for about 15-20. Check with a small stick (like a tooth-pick) to check if they’re ready. Put the small stick in the middle and if it comes out clean (with no batter on it), your cupcakes are done. Let them cool in the cupcake tin for 5 minutes and then take them out to cool for at least another hour.
Put the white chocolate into a bowl and hang it above a pan with boiling water to melt (if you don’t really understand this, google au bain-marie). When it’s molten, brush the melted chocolate on top of the cupcakes (I used a brush for this at first, but it’s way easier to put the melted chocolate in a piping bag and just use that to divide it on top of the cupcakes).  Now sprinkle the rest of the dark chocolate over this.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For the Dutch viewers who’ve checked out the link to the website: you can see my recipe differs a bit from the original. I’ve changed some small things and left some things out. Feel free to follow the original recipe if you want to!
Also, you can see that my cupcakes don’t have dark chocolate sprinkles on top of them (they do, however, have Easter eggs!). I forgot to save a quarter of the dark chocolate and put it all into my batter. I do think they would’ve been prettier with the dark chocolate on top of them.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And a little preview of what’s yet to come!

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Mocha cupcakes

  1. Pingback: 48. Learn to cook ten new recipes | imjustthisawesome

  2. Pingback: 72. Post at least ten recipes on my blog | imjustthisawesome

Leave a Reply

