About books and movies (#3)

Since my last ‘About books and movies’, I’ve read three more books and watched three more movies. Not that much, but enough for an update.

Let’s start with the books I’ve read:
I’ve read the first two books in the ‘The Chemical Garden’ trilogy by Lauren DeStefano: Wither and Fever. They’re dystopian Young Adult novels, a genre that’s quite popular nowadays. I am yet to read the third book, so I can’t say for sure if I’d recommend the series, but so far so good. They’re quiet quick to go through and even though I liked the first book better, the second book wasn’t bad. It was just like the second book was written just to make a trilogy of the books, I guess. I think you could do with only the first and third book, but as I said, I can’t be sure yet.

I’ve also read Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. It’s a book about sometime in the future where a virtual world kind of dominates the real world. There’s a game -not really, but you’d have to read the book or a better summary to understand me- with which you can earn a LOT of money and fame, but everybody can compete and nothing has happened for a few years. Then a boy finds the first clue and it all starts to play out. A lot of the stuff that has to do with the ‘game’ that’s played in the book has to do with the eighties and even though I’m from ’93, I recognized a lot of the stuff that was mentioned. I would definitely recommend the book. It’s a unique book with a different approach to the dystopian genre than most books have and it’s just fun to read.

And now let’s move on to movies.
I went to watch Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close at a local filmhouse with a friend. I had seen the movie before at the cinema, but I didn’t mind seeing it again. I’m a bit in doubt though, because I really like the movie, but I just can get through the book. I’m taking a really long time reading it and I’ve even just given up on it now, because I really dislike the book. I think it’s very boring and just dreadful. The movie’s nothing like that, though.

I also watched Winter’s Bone (with Jennifer Lawrence!) a few days ago with another friend. It was very weird for me to watch the movie, because it’s so far from how I live and what my culture is. I could never image living like that. I do like the movie, but it’s not a funny movie. It’s pretty serious and harsh.

The last movie I watched is Intouchables and man, oh man. I love it. It’s got humour, but the undertone is pretty serious. It’s based on a true story, which makes it extra special. It’s about a man in a wheelchair, who can’t move more than just his head, looking for a new personal caretaker. This guy, who’s obviously got NO experience at all, walks in just to get a paper signed so he can keep his social security and suddenly, he’s hired. The wheelchair guy takes an enormous risk by hiring him, but they eventually work things out and get along pretty well. I just.. If you haven’t seen this movie, go watch it right now.

Leave a Reply

