74. Go to the zoo

Long time no see, but I’ve crossed off another goal from my list. I’ve been to the zoo! I went together with a friend of mine. Before going to the zoo, we went to the Haarlemmerdijk (Amsterdam, The Netherlands), because we’d both heard a lot about it and wanted to see for ourselves. I wasn’t that impressed with the street, but there was a second hand clothes shop where I got a really nice jacket.

After walking along the Haarlemmerdijk, we bought sushi and  took it with us to the zoo. Artis, the name of the zoo, is located in the centre of Amsterdam. I think it’s the most famous zoo in the Netherlands and I’ve been to it a lot as a kid. Luckily, this experience didn’t change my nostalgic feelings, since it still is as amazing as it was back then.

First thing we did when in Artis, was eat our sushi, haha. We got some pretty weird stares for that, but well. After that, we just took off in a random direction and soon followed the signs with the animals to see which direction we hadn’t been to yet.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Camel? Dromedary? A camel has two bumps, right? So it must be a camel. Dromedaries have one bump.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Look at this awesome turtle being awesome! It’s neck is so long! I don’t remember what they were called, but it was something like snake neck turtle and it’s really the most fitting name ever.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I was a bit startled by the actual size of these lionesses (right? I am doubting every animal I name). I know they are big, of course, but I hadn’t realised exactly how large they are!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Another big cat -I can’t remember the name-, but at least this one was very active and running around! It was fun to look at.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Elephants! I really liked the little baby-elephant. At one point, one of it’s parents started to feed trees to it. The parent just ripped of some piece of tree and gave it to the little one.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Fucking huge turtles.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These sea-lions were fucking loud! They kept yelling and throwing each other off the rock. Their yell sounds very strange and it really is very loud, but also very funny.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Beautiful butterflies! Their resort was a little too hot for me, though. It was already a very sunny and hot day, but their resort was even hotter.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After the butterflies, we walked into another building and found out this was were you could watch the sea-lions when they were diving! The water was a bit trouble, but you could see them racing at you and turning right before the glass.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Its butt.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I don’t really like monkeys anymore since Bokito broke out a couple of years ago. I know it’s safe and you shouldn’t look them in the eye and smile, but still. They’re still animals and animals are all potentially dangerous.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love owls! I’ve got necklaces, bracelets, rings and earrings with owls, so you could say I’m a bit obsessed! This owl wouldn’t turn it’s head towards me, unfortunately. I’ve got some other pictures featuring Hedwig (from Harry Potter, obviously), but they weren’t that great either.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And finally the penguins! THEY SMELL. Seriously.

Leave a Reply

