About books and movies (#4)

Time for some updates!

A few days ago, I reviewed the three books in the Across the Universe series in separate posts. I explained this is because I want to practise writing a review and putting my thoughts on ‘paper’. I don’t have a lot of experience for writing reviews for any other cause than school and I want to become better at it. I want to know what I like about books and what I don’t. Of course, everybody knows if they do or don’t like a book, but I want to become more experienced in why I do (or don’t).  I want to be able to put in words what I thought about the storyline, the pace, the way a book is written and more. To become better at writing reviews, the logical thing to do is to practise. That’s what I will do, but I will also still write ‘About books and movies’ posts. I often watch a movie or read a book and afterwards, I don’t have a clear-cut opinion about it, but just some thoughts. That’s what I still want to use these posts for. Also, since I’m being so honest now, these posts are also for books and movies I’ve read/watched too long ago to really remember what my detailed opinion was. Shameful, I know.

Well, let’s get down to business.

First, books.

I’ve read The Diviners by Libba Bray. I’d heard quite a lot about this book on BookTube before I decided to read it. I don’t know what I was expecting, but it wasn’t this. It’s set in the 1920’s and that surprised me a bit, just because I really hadn’t seen it coming. It’s been a while since I’ve read this book, but the strongest feeling I had after I was finished, was a question. Why does this need a sequel. This could have been an outstanding stand alone, with just some details removed and some questions answered. I rated the book four stars, so I liked it even though it should (in my opinion) have been a stand alone. Also, it’s got the fourth star mostly because of the time it’s set in.

The Help by Kathryn Stockett is the next book I read. It’s about the time when people of colour weren’t treated equally yet and about a white girl who wants to write a book about it. It’s a pretty delicate subject which I don’t know enough of to feel comfortable writing about. I raced through the book, not wanting to put it down. It’s not a subject I’ve read much about and even though this is fiction and I don’t know how truth-based it is, I still think I got a bit of an idea of the situation. Not much, but enough to become more interested in the subject, especially since it’s still a hot topic nowadays.

The last book I’m going to review right now, is The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak. The only reason I got to know about this book, was every Youtuber who named this book in the Bookshelf Scavenger Hunt Tag. I gave this book five stars. It’s about a girl in Germany during the Second World War and the story’s told by Death. Death tells you about her life and about Germany in WWII. It may not seem original, since there are many, many books about WWII, but this book made me cry so hard. It made me cry and it made me hope and it made me smile and it made me cry some more. I don’t want to spoil any more, just read it. Just. Read. It.

And now, movies.

I have seen eight movies in the cinema so far and this post will be about movies five – eight. Movies I haven’t seen in the cinema and also haven’t written about yet, will be taken care of in another post.

I went to see Iron Man 3 with some of my friends. I don’t know any more why we went to see this movie, but it was fun. The movie was great, but I am an Iron Man fan, so I might have been biased. If you liked the previous two Iron Man movies, you will definitely like this one too. If you didn’t see them, you could probably still see this movie and get most of it. A few situations hinted back to The Avengers movie, but you can also watch Iron Man 3 without having seen The Avengers.

A few years ago, some friends and I won a local thing and with the prize money we bought the popcorn when we went to Despicable Me (the prize money could only just pay for our popcorn – it wasn’t that much). This year, Despicable Me 2 came out and we went to see it. I don’t see how anyone could not like this movie. Maybe if you’re really grumpy and are in a shitty mood, but still. It’s not a movie that requires you to think – you just have to get in your sit and enjoy the movie and that’s it. It’s fun, it’s easy and it’s fucking hilarious. Done.

The next movie I saw in the cinema was Les Beaux Jours. I didn’t really know what I was expecting with this one. It’s a French movie about an older lady (I say older, but mind you, I’m twenty) who’s having an affair with a younger (still older than I am, though) man and everything that comes with that. The movie was al right, but it’s not my kind of genre. It wasn’t a romantic movie, but it was more that kind of movie you’d expect in a local film house or something. I wouldn’t recommend it or want to see it again.

The last movie I saw, was Now You See Me. It’s about four illusionists who rob banks/people during their show. The FBI and all can’t arrest them without further proof, because that would just make them look like idiots. The tricks were set up very nice, but I did like that we got an explanation on them. If you’ve got the chance to see this movie, go see it. It’s great!

Leave a Reply

