Review: Leviathan

Leviathan
Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

My expectations were too high. I’ve heard so much about the book and series on BookTube that my expectations went through the roof and the book just didn’t have any chance on competing with them. It’s not that I didn’t like the book, I just expected more.

The story is about Alek, the son of a murdered archduke, and Deryn. Alek has to flee from his house after his parents are murdered in Sarajevo and he becomes the heir to an empire. His way of getting out of the country is by machine, a walker. Deryn, on the other hand, becomes part of the crew on an airship. They meet when Alek has reached his destination and Deryn’s airship crashes nearby.

I liked the idea with the Darwinists (with fabricated animals) and the Clankers (with very modern machines), but it could have been worked out better. I would’ve liked to know more, but maybe that’s to come in one of the next books in the trilogy.
To me, the book seems a bit childish the way it’s written. I especially found the way Deryn talks very annoying and not necessary. I don’t mind a bit of slang, but if I got an Euro for every time she said ‘wee bit’, I’d be rich.

In short I liked the story, but it wasn’t what I had expected and I was a bit disappointed as result.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: Leviathan

  1. Pingback: 20. Read 100 books | imjustthisawesome

Leave a Reply

