About books and movies (#5)

It’s been about a month since my last ‘About books and movies’ post and since I’m considering to make this a monthly recurring post, here’s an update:

Quickly after the last post, I went on vacation and had quite a lot of free time. I’ve spent a lot of that time reading.
First off, I finished The Fifth Wave by Rick Yancey. I really liked the book and have rated it four stars on Goodreads. The way the book had more than one point of view was very well used and gave a lot of extra information which I was glad about. I wasn’t really surprised by Evan being what he is, but I didn’t mind either. The idea of the book, especially the plot twists at the ending, were pretty scary. It would be one thing for Aliens to invade Earth, but it would be another to make kids fight their families and friends. I’m curious to see what the sequel will bring, though I think this book could also have been a standalone.

After the Fifth Wave, I read The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson, the first book in the Millenium series. I was pleasantly surprised with this book and how well it’s written! I had heard of the series, of course, but I hadn’t really thought much about it before. It’s a good book and it’s kept me up a night when I wanted to know the ending. I am looking forward to reading the second book

Lastly, I read The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald. I haven’t seen the movie (starring Leonardo diCaprio) yet and I wanted to read the book before I watched the movie. The trailer was very confusing and I didn’t know if I would understand the movie without having read the book. I now know I probably would have understood the movie, since the storyline isn’t that difficult to understand. I always thought The Great Gatsby would be a very hard book to read, but I got through it pretty fast and without many difficulties. I think it’s one of those books everyone should have read at some point and now I have.

I have read a few more books, but they weren’t interesting enough to make this post. If you still want to know which books I read and how many stars I rated them, you can check out my Goodreads account.

And now onto movies again. I have watched nine movies since last time, but I’m going to save some movies for the next post. When I was on vacation, I went to the cinema twice. Grown Ups 2 was the first movie I went to see. It’s apparently a sequel (hence the ‘2’ in the title), but I never saw the first one and I don’t think I missed out on it. Grown Ups 2 is just another comedy made to entertain you for about an hour and a half and after that, you never think about it again (unless you make a blogpost about it, of course). It was a fun movie and I enjoyed myself, but that’s it. I discussed this with the friend I went to see the movie with. We agreed that, when people talk about a movie afterwards, it’s a good and interesting movie. We didn’t talk about Grown Ups 2 afterwards.

The second movie I went to while on vacation, was The Lone Ranger. It’s a bit of a Western movie, starring Johnny Depp as Indian. I really like the movie and had a good time watching it, though I do think it’s a bit offending towards Native Americans. The movie mainly is about corrupt people trying to get a lot of silver, though this short sentence doesn’t do it justice. If you like action, Western, handsome men (though the one I fancied most got shot in the very beginning of the movie) and just want to watch a good movie, I’d recommend this one.

The third movie I watched, was The Mortal Instruments – City of Bones. Many people on Youtube have already reviewed this movie and I don’t know if I can add anything that hasn’t been said yet. In general, I liked the movie better than I thought I would. I wasn’t impressed by the trailer and I feared for the actual movie, but it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. Of course, I still didn’t like everything (Magnus! Why the weird pop music when they kissed! Magnus! Jace’s hair! MAGNUS!), but I am honestly looking forward to the second movie.

Lastly, the fourth movie I watched was The Nightmare Before Christmas. It’s an old movie by Tim Burton, but I still hadn’t seen it (though I knew quite a few of the songs). I am a fan of Tim Burton and so, naturally, I liked this movie. I do admit it isn’t very fast-paced, but it is enjoyable. It’s got the usual horror-ish theme that Tim Burton’s movies all seem to have and I guess you either love it or hate it. I love it.

One thought on “About books and movies (#5)

  1. Pingback: About books and movies (#6) | imjustthisawesome

Leave a Reply

