Book Haul (#1): Boekenfestijn Utrecht

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My first haul post! I very rarely buy books, because I just don’t have enough money to go crazy all the time. I sometimes scramble enough money together to buy one or two books, but that’s not worth a haul post.
Last week, though, I had the opportunity to buy a lot of books. And when I say ‘a lot of books’, I mean A LOT OF BOOKS. I’ve bought twenty-four books in only two days. The reason why I was able to buy so many books was the Boekenfestijn in Utrecht. Boekenfestijn is a very large sort of book market that travels through the Netherlands and Belgium and is in a different city every month. From 5 – 8 September it was in Utrecht in the Jaarbeurshallen. The entrance was free and the books were very cheap. I had saved some money especially for the occasion and as I said, I went home with twenty-four new books.

I threw away the receipts I got, but the books were all between €1,99 and €2,50, except for the complete works by Jane Austen. That book was something like €6,99. In total I paid €74,95 for twenty-four books, which includes a book with all the novels by Jane Austen, so technically I got thirty books. If I would have bought all the books on bookdepository or in a store, I would probably have paid well over €100,-.

So, let’s get on with the books!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Starting with these three books. I don’t have Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, which is written in the same way (and, I thought, written by the same writer as Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters and Android Karenina). I’d heard a bit about these books, but never really felt the need to order them online. When I say them ‘in person’, though, I couldn’t walk past them.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Damn of the Dreadfuls by Steve Hockensmith
I had never heard of this book in the series before, but Lisa (BlondeBookBee) said this was sort of the prequel to the whole series, so I bought this one too. I don’t think there’s an order in which you should read the books, but I’ll just start with this one.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters by Jane Austen and Ben H. Winters

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Android Karenina by Jane Austen and Ben H. Winters

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Where things come back by John Corey Whaley
Lisa remember this book being recommended by Jesse (Jessethereader) and picked it up, as did I.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have never actually read anything by Maggie Stiefvater, but I’ve heard great things about her books. So, when I saw the first two books in the Books of Faerie series offered for such a cheap price, I just took them with me. I hope the books do no disappoint me, because it’s always a bit of a lucky guess when you pick up books from a series you haven’t read yet (but on the other hand, it’s always a lucky guess to pick up books you haven’t read yet).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ballad by Maggie Stiefvater

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lament by Maggie Stiefvater

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Vampire’s Assistant by Darren Shan
This book contains the first three books in the Vampire’s Assistant series. I think I’ve read the first book before, but I honestly can’t really remember.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Best of Me by Nicholas Sparks
I’ve read a few books by Nicholas Sparks, but I don’t always enjoy them. Dear John is still unfinished and just waiting to be picked up again, but I don’t really want to finish it anymore. The Notebook and The Last Song I did enjoy though, so I’m curious to see how I’ll like this book. Lisa said it was a pretty great book, so I’m hoping she’s right.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Zombie Autopsies by Steven C. Schlozman
I saw this book and knew I had to have it. I have no idea if it’s any good, but I’m just really curious to how the autopsies are written and what’s actually realistic and what’s not. I am really looking forward to reading this book.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Before I fall by Lauren Oliver
I haven’t read the Delirium series yet, so this will be the first book written by Lauren Oliver I will read. This book may decide if I still want to read the Delirium series, so it better be good.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Julie & Julia by Julie Powell
I saw the movie a few years ago and I really enjoyed it, but I didn’t remember/know it was a book-to-movie adaptation. I’m hoping this book is a bit more quick-paced than the movie was, but I still think I’ll enjoy the book.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

De Eerste Dag by David Nicholls (One Day by David Nicholls)
The only Dutch book I’ve bought for myself while I was in Utrecht. A friend of mine recommend me this book and so I’ve bought it. I have seen the movie, though I didn’t really enjoy it as much as I could have. I’m hoping the book is better than the movie.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Ninth Life of Louis Drax by Liz Jensen
I walked past this book a few times before I decided to pick this up and read the back. The book is a bit different from the books I normally read (which is mostly young adult), but I am curious to read this book. The back says it’s a psychological thriller about a boy who gets into a coma and a doctor who wants to bring him back, but somehow is drawn into the dark heart of the boy’s world. I’m very, very curious.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Changeling by Phillipa Gregory
There were so many books by Phillipa Gregory, but this seemed to be the only one that wasn’t a historical roman about the English kings and queens. Though I also want to read those series, I didn’t feel like searching for the first books in the series while I was there. This book, though, is a first in a series and so I decided to give it a chance. I’m a bit sceptical from reading the story on the back, but we’ll see.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Carrie Diaries by Candace Bushnell
I have never watched Sex and the City or The Carrie Diaries and this looks like something I could start an addiction with.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And Another Thing by Eoin Colfer
I have read the first five books in the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy and just had to take this with me when I saw it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Time Keeper by Mitch Albom

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All of my Wordsworth Classics I’ve bought!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The complete novels of Jane Austen
Sense and Sensibility
Pride and Prejudice
Northanger Abbey
Mansfield Park
Lady Susan
Persuasion
Emma

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Peter Pan & Peter Pan in Kensington Gardens by J. M. Barrie
The thing that most attracted me in this book is the beautiful cover!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Adventures and Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes by sir Arthur Conan Doyle

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Best of Sherlock Holmes by sir Arthur Conan Doyles

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare

One thought on “Book Haul (#1): Boekenfestijn Utrecht

  1. Pingback: Book Haul Boekenfestijn Utrecht (#7) | imjustthisawesome

Leave a Reply

