Review: Requiem

Requiem
Requiem by Lauren Oliver
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

What a disappointing ending to this series. I liked the book for about two-thirds of the way in and then it just started to become way to predictable and boring. To me, it feels like Lauren Oliver chose the save way to end this book.

I did like the different points of view, switching between Hana and Lena. I think it gave the book something extra, like the switching between then and now gave the second book something extra. It kept it a bit more interesting and it needed it.

Now come the spoilers!

Alex was an asshole for the best part of the book, which I kinda could understand, since he’d given up his life (almost literary) for a girl who just jumps at another guy the moment he shows up. The other guy (Julian, obviously) has, as it seems to me, only one purpose: to serve as a way for Lena to make Alex jealous. He seems like a nice character, but nothing really interesting/important happens to him.

The characters I liked best are Tack and Raven, even though I have no clue what happened with Raven at the end. Did she die? Did she survive? I have no idea.

I’m just very disappointed by this third book. Lena has almost no character development (all she does is trying to make Alex jealous and whine about being treated as a kid), Julian serves no purpose, Alex is an asshole and the plot frustrates me. It could have been so much more, but it felt like the ending was just rushed to compensate for the tediously slow beginning.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: Requiem

  1. Pingback: 20. Read 100 books | imjustthisawesome

Leave a Reply

