Recipe: Vegetable Skewer

Vegetable skewers

A couple of months ago I went home for the weekend and my mom told me she wouldn’t be home to cook on Friday evening, so I had to cook something for my father and little brother. Whenever I cook at my parents’ home, I try to make something new. My mother has more herbs and spices (and money, for grocery shopping), so I prefer to do my experimenting at theirs. I decided to make something healthy, so I made chicken with vegetable skewers and some potatoes on the side.

That was a couple of months ago and today I made the vegetable skewers again. The recipe is really easy and it’s put together with almost no effort at all.  That’s also the reason why I can only provide you with a (slightly blurry) Instagram picture. I didn’t even know I wanted to make a post for this recipe until I almost began eating!

What you’ll need:

  • Bell peppers (one big or two small ones per person)
  • Zucchini (half a zucchini per person)
  • Mushrooms (six to eight mushrooms per person)
  • Olive oil
  • Salt
  • Peppers
  • Skewers

What you’ll need to do:
First off, preheat your oven to 200ºC.
Wash all your vegetables. Now, cut the zucchini and bell peppers into bite size pieces.The zucchini pieces should be about a finger wide. The mushrooms, though depending on what sort you bought, don’t have to be cut. Your vegetables should all be roughly the same size.
Now coat them all with a small layer of olive oil. I used a brush for this, but you can also use your fingers. Just make sure the vegetables aren’t drowning in it, because that isn’t necessary and will only make a mess. Put some salt and pepper on one side of your pieces and after that, arrange the vegetables on a skewer. I only put salt and pepper on one side of the vegetables, because otherwise the dish would turn out too salty, which I don’t like. Of course, you can add as much salt and pepper as you like.
When you’re arranging the vegetables on the skewer, put them on switching between the different sorts. It looks prettier and is more interesting to eat that way.
Put the vegetables in the oven for about twenty minutes. The mushrooms should look shrivelled, but the zucchini pieces may still have a bite to them. If you want your zucchini to be completely soft, you can always keep your skewers in the oven for a few more minutes.

And that’s it, you’re done! You now have a lovely healthy (except maybe for the salt) recipe, made in no time and with no effort!
The fish you can see on the picture below is some Tilapia fillet with dill and lemon juice, for those of you who might be interested.

2013-10-01 18.55.51

3 thoughts on “Recipe: Vegetable Skewer

  1. Pingback: Free Day, Baking and Cooking Day: 30 Days Challenge: Day…? | Drown in melancholy

  2. Pingback: 48. Learn to cook ten new recipes | imjustthisawesome

  3. Pingback: 72. Post at least ten recipes on my blog | imjustthisawesome

Leave a Reply

