47. Make a custom recipe book

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One of my goals is to make a custom recipe book. I’ve put some thought in how I wanted to realise this and I ended up with a regular A4 notebook which I want to fill with cut-out pictures and recipes from those magazines you often find in supermarkets. Over the last few months, I’ve gathered up some of those magazines (and asked my mother to get those from the local supermarket where she lives too), so I’ve got quite a few now. I don’t have nearly enough to totally fill up my notebook, but that’s okay. Making a custom recipe book is a progress and I don’t mind it lasting for a year or so.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What I did was cut out the recipes that I thought I would like to make and I glued those into my notebook. I didn’t include the recipes that seemed really good, but which I knew I was never ever going to make. I wanted to make a recipe book which I’ll actually use, not one to just stare at.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve made three categories for my recipes: gebak eten (pastry), avondeten (dinner) and snack eten (snacks). I know this sounds like I don’t plan on losing any weight at all, but in snack I also include salmon wraps, for example. So it isn’t all bad.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Just a regular notebook!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Three categories!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The recipes are not always page-filling, but this way I can use those small empty spots for little recipes, like for a dip sauce.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A page from the snacks collection.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I even included some tutorials! This is one on how to make caramel.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What do you think of my custom made recipe book? Are you making some sort of recipe book too or have I inspired you? What recipes would you recommend me to put in my book?

Leave a Reply

