98. Stand up for old people in public transport, even if they say I don’t have to

I deliberately added this goal on my list hoping I would inspire a few (even if it would just be one person) people to stand up for someone in public transport or do something nice for someone/a stranger too. I travel with public transport on a daily basis and so many people are just so very rude and anti-social.

It already starts when people enter a bus (or tram or anything with a chauffeur in the front where you get in) and they don’t greet the chauffeur. I try to make a point to ALWAYS greet the chauffeur, even if (s)he looks like (s)he’s not interested in my greeting at all. It’s such a small thing for me to do and I know it could brighten (or at least light up a little) someone’s day.

And greeting the chauffeur is just a small thing to start with. Somehow I see quite a few elderly people on the bus in Amsterdam when I’m travelling to or from school and even though most of the time they can find a place to sit, that’s not always the case.
I usually prefer to stand in the bus (I don’t have to travel far and I can manage to stand for a while), so I don’t often have the change to offer someone my seat and luckily, thankfully, I also see people offering their seat to an elderly when I don’t have the chance to offer my seat to them. But not always. Very much the opposite of always.

A few days ago, I had decided to sit down somewhere in the back half of the bus, when I saw a woman shuffle closer. She was obviously old and also was carrying a large grocery bag. I happily stood up for her and gave her my seat (and in doing so, completed my goal), but it was just so saddening that I was in the back half of the bus and she had walked past so many people who didn’t stand up for her.
And I know not everybody pays attention to who steps into a bus and I know some people can’t stand up for elderly because they need to sit, but still. Nobody stood up for her and if I hadn’t, I don’t know if anyone would have. It just proves my point when I say that ~most~ people are rude and anti-social.

This post is not something to boost my self esteem or to tell you guys how polite and well brought-up I am. It’s a post to bring this subject to your attention. By just doing some small things, like greeting the chauffeur or by standing up for someone, you could make someone’s day and feel good about yourself. It doesn’t have to cost you anything and you’re still doing something good. Just think about it next time an opportunity presents itself to you.

One thought on “98. Stand up for old people in public transport, even if they say I don’t have to

  1. It feels good to stand up for old people! I did it a few weeks ago, because the bus was way too full. The old lady said I didn’t have to but I did anyways and later someone else stood up for a man getting on the bus. I felt so proud in that moment! Changing the world into a better place!

Leave a Reply

