About books and movies (#6)

This is already the sixth post about books and movies! I really like writing these, because they give me an opportunity to vent my opinion about books and movies, but I don’t have to be detailed enough to make it one post per opinion. So, without further ado, here is my opinion on these books and movies:

First off I want to talk about Laini Taylor’s ‘Daughter of Smoke and Bone‘, the first book in the ‘Daughter of Smoke and Bone’ series. Book number two has also been released and is called ‘Days of Blood and Starlight‘. They are obviously books that embrace the supernatural trend that’s going on everywhere, but thankfully, it’s not about vampires.
I really liked the first book in the series. It’s about a girl who’s raised in a very peculiar way and has many secrets. Slowly, her past becomes clear and really, the book is very intriguing. I don’t want to spoil too much, but I really liked this first book.
The second book, though, was a bit of a let down. It wasn’t horrible, but I just thought that maybe Laini Taylor was trying a bit too hard. I don’t know. The plot twists and the actions of the characters, mweh. I’m sure I’ll read book three, just so I can finish the series, but I do hope it’s a bit better than the second book.

I also read John Corey Whaley’s ‘Where things come back‘. I really am not sure if I liked this book or not. It is contemporary, I believe, and I don’t usually read that genre. I don’t know. The book wasn’t very fast paced, which I like, but it somehow still managed to keep my attention. I just don’t know how to think about this book. I hated the ending, but that’s mainly because it can be interpreted two ways and I don’t like open endings. I know some people who’ve read this, think it’s amazing, but I wouldn’t necessarily recommend it.

Lastly, I also read Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell. I am a bit late reading this, because everybody has already read this (and Fangirl), but hey. I liked this book. It’s about two very different people in a very different time and I liked it. It reads pretty fast and it’s got two points of view, which is refreshing. I rated it five stars on Goodreads, which I don’t know if it deserves, but that’s in hindsight and I usually rate my books directly after I’ve finished reading them. It’s a good book, though. Read it.

Moving on to movies now. I’ve watched quite a couple of movies since my last About books and movies, so here’s a small selection:

I finally watched Warm Bodies. I had wanted to watch this one since it came out in cinemas, which was a pretty long time ago. I didn’t get to watch it on the big screen though and I had to make do with my laptop screen. Which was totally fine. Now, about Warm Bodies. It’s probably the most unrealistic zombie movie there is. Like, you’ve got zombie movies and those are almost always very unrealistic and now you’ve got Warm Bodies, which is even more unrealistic. Buuuuuuuuuuuuuut I liked it. It’s cliché (well.. some parts are), but it’s refreshing and in some twisted way, it gives me hope. If those zombies can find love and heal (sorry for spoiling the complete movie), so can I. It’s a feel good movie and a comedie and it’s got some pretty scary moments. Overall, I really liked it and if you haven’t seen it yet, you should definitely watch it!

The next one is a Dutch movie and it’s called Smoorverliefd, which loosely translates to ‘being head over heels in love’. This one I saw in the cinema and it was a bit of a mistake. It wasn’t a bad movie (trust me, I’ve seen bad movies), but it wasn’t exactly worth my money either. Also, a thing that kept annoying me was that the movie was narrated by a girl who was about fourteen or so years old and one of the bigger topics was sex. Somehow, I found that a bit disturbing. Also, the main character had a very annoying smile.

My friend was watching Marvel movies and, after seeing The Avengers, really wanted to see Thor 2: The Dark World, so we went to see it. It was a great movie. I really like Tom Hiddleston as Loki, so this is one of those few movies in which I actually root for the ‘bad guy’ (though technically he wasn’t the real bad guy in this movie). Also, if you go to see Thor 2, stay until after the black screen with credits. There’s more.

And, lastly, I of course went to see The Hunger Games: Catching Fire in the cinema. I wouldn’t have missed this for the world. I remember being not that impressed with The Hunger Games, but I had heard so much about Catching Fire that I really had to go and it did not disappoint. I’ve read the book a couple of years ago, but from what I can remember, it really kept to the book. I also was really pleased with Effie in this movie. She’s a bit easier to connect with than she was in The Hunger Games and it did her good. I’m looking forward to Mockingjay (though I don’t know how to feel about it being split into two movies).

One thought on “About books and movies (#6)

  1. Pingback: About books and movies (#7) | imjustthisawesome

Leave a Reply

