Nemo

A few weeks ago, I went to the Museumnacht. With the wristband that I got that night, I also automatically got a visit to an extra museum for another time. I just had to go to a museum that took part in Museumnacht before December 31th and my visit would be for free.  My friend and I decided we wanted to go to Nemo. Nemo is a science centre and altough I think it’s mostly for kids, we really wanted to go. I have been there a few times when I was a kid, but I can’t really remember much, except that it was a lot of fun.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is what Nemo looks like from the outside. It’s within walking distance from Amsterdam Central Station (though I didn’t come from that direction, so don’t use this picture as reference). The entrance is a little bit hidden, but as long as you don’t walk up the roof, you should be fine.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One of the very first thing you stumble upon when you’ve entered Nemo, is this. You can make life size bubbles! The trick to making bubbles that are actually as tall as you are, is to move the ring up quickly while shaking it. Go slowly or don’t shake it and the bubble will collapse before it’s reached your hips.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Infinity mirrors! Finally the change to look at yourself from every angle possible!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Look, I’m flying! I think I did a pretty good job trying to get myself symmetrical.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m going to be so ugly when I’m old. This machine could also show how you looked as a child, but a girl was waiting behind us, so we decided to let her have a go.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This was some weird machine in which you had to sort balls by weight, size and colour. Even though my friend and I are both (somewhat) adults, I think we sucked hard at this. It took us a while to totally understand it. But in our defence, I think most of the children had no idea what they had to do. Or so I hope.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Very strange and funny machine in which you could French kiss each other using your arms.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This showed you where you were hot and cold. Yellow is hot and the darker the colour is, the colder it is. It was very strange that my hands are significantly hotter than my friend’s hands. My fringe is also very visible.

Of course, this isn’t by far all there is to do in Nemo. I just didn’t take pictures of everything and I am not going to describe it all. If you want to know what else there is to do, maybe go visit Nemo yourselves sometime! Depending on how elaborate you are with looking and trying everything, you could spend an afternoon there. Don’t expect to spend a whole day in Nemo, though. It isn’t that big.

I enjoyed my afternoon in Nemo, especially since I also went a couple of times as a kid. I recognised some of the machines and things to do, but a lot of things were new to me. If you happen to be in Amsterdam and you’ve got a free afternoon, definitely consider going to Nemo. Don’t expect amazing mind blowing things, but do expect an enjoyable afternoon with a lot of things to see and do.

2 thoughts on “Nemo

Leave a Reply

