About books and movies (#7)

Since my last About books and movies, I’ve read thirteen more books, of which only three did not belong to a series. Of those books, I’ve already written separate reviews on two stand alones and one series. This leaves me with one stand alone book and two series to talk about.

https://d202m5krfqbpi5.cloudfront.net/books/1355886270l/16068905.jpg

The stand alone I want to review here, is ‘Fangirl‘ by Rainbow Rowell. I’ve also read Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell and I liked that one, so I thought this would be a good choice. I ended up giving Fangirl 3.5 out of 5 stars. I really loved the story about the nerdish girl (who I could relate to a bit) who went to college and had to deal with the changes that brought. I liked how the main character evolved, but still remained true to herself. The one big thing I absolutely didn’t like about the book, though, was the fanfiction. The main character writes fanfiction about some sort of Harry Potter personage (but he’s called Simon Snow) and she’s actually quite famous for it online. This all would be fine, but the thing is that Rainbow Rowell decided to include the fanfiction into the story. The story about our main character is therefore frequently disturbed by fanfiction about Simon Snow. I absolutely do not care for Simon Snow and I would have liked the book so much better if the fanfiction was just mentioned, but not included. That’s why I’ve given Fangirl ‘only’ 3.5 out of 5 stars. If the fanfiction was just mentioned, I would have rated the book 4.5 out of 5 stars. See for yourself if you care though, because the rest of the book really is great. I just couldn’t get over the fanfiction.

https://d202m5krfqbpi5.cloudfront.net/books/1328275091l/12578077.jpg

The first series I read, was the Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout. This contains ‘Obsidian‘, ‘Onyx‘, ‘Opal‘, ‘Origin‘ and a fifth book that hasn’t been released yet (but, as I remember it correctly, is called Opposition). I’ve marathonned the series and I honestly must admit I don’t remember any details. I know I liked the story and I am waiting for book five to be released, but I will have to read some summaries to catch up on the storyline. The book is about your normal teenage girl and your not so normal teenage boy, though thankfully it’s not about vampires (sorry for spoiler). I remember they got into some deep shit in the fourth book and the fifth book better be good. A full series review will probably follow later in the future (though no promises).

https://d202m5krfqbpi5.cloudfront.net/books/1333909141l/9275658.jpg

The last series I read, was the Legend series by Marie Lu. This series consist of ‘Legend‘, ‘Prodigy‘ and ‘Champion‘. This series is about a future in which the United States are divided into the Republic and the Colonies. The two sides are in a constant state of war and with this comes trouble. Day is a rebel in the Republic and the most wanted criminal. June is the smartest child (teenager?) in the Republic and has to find a way to catch him. Of course things don’t go as planned and soon enough, they realise they’ve got more in common than they might have thought. I liked this trilogy, though the first book really just was another dystopian YA novel at first. Luckily, the series grew on me and I got attached to the characters. If you like dystopian YA trilogies, definitely try this one out.

On to movies! I’ve seen seven movies since last time, but only three are really worth talking about (though I’ve got a fun story about the fourth one!).

https://i2.wp.com/fc07.deviantart.net/fs71/f/2013/014/8/a/desolation_of_smaug_by_umbridge1986-d5riks0.jpg

Movie number one is The Hobbit; The Desolation of Smaug. Oh my god. Oh. My. God. OH. MY. GOD. I’m such a fangirl. I loved the first movie already, but I liked the second one even better! THE BARREL SCENES! They were fantastic. The addition of Tauriel (who really doesn’t exist in the book) is a really great move, I adore her. I love how Evangeline Lily plays her. The movie was quite different from the book, but I am totally fine with that.  Overall, I just loved it and if you haven’t seen it yet: SHAME ON YOU. Go watch it. Now.

https://blogs.commons.georgetown.edu/cctp-725-fall2013/files/2013/09/Spirited-Away.jpg

I’ve also watched Spirited Away, a Japanese movie (with English subtitles). I had heard a lot about this movie, though I didn’t really know what it was about. I just pressed play and was pleasantly surprised. It’s a nice story about a girl who sort of gets lost, but finds her way back home in the end. It probably has a deeper meaning than that, though. It was my first Japanese movie (though I’ve watched some series I think were Japanese) and if somebody could recommend me more movies like this one, I’d be really greatful.

https://i1.wp.com/static3.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20131002122860/disney/images/5/58/Frozen-movie-poster.jpg

Lastly, I’ve watched Frozen. It’s an animated movie and it’s got that great Disney feel to it, a bit like Tangled had too. It’s a lovely story about two sisters who grow apart due to some circumstances and eventually get back together, gaining experience in life and some other things while doing so. The movie’s got music and all and is just really a great feelgood movie. I don’t know if I’d pay to see this in the cinema, but I’d definitely recommend to watch this at home.

https://i0.wp.com/24.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lplq8kuTqc1qi202wo1_400.jpg

Also, about the fourth movie I mentioned earlier. It’s The Notebook, which two of my friends and I watched last Saturday. I’ve seen this movie at least three times already, but we wanted to see it anyway. At one point, all three of us sat crying on the couch. Yup. We’re that typical. (Also, fun fact! The Notebook celebrates its ten year anniversary this year. That’s right. The movie came out in 2004. FEEL OLD YET?)

This was it, guys. Did you read/watch any of the books/movies mentioned above and how did you feel about them? Have you got any movies you’d recommend to me?

One thought on “About books and movies (#7)

  1. Pingback: About books and movies (#8) | imjustthisawesome

Leave a Reply

