Review: Me and Earl and the Dying Girl

https://www.juniorlibraryguild.com/images/9781419701764/CoverArt/9781419701764_zoom.jpg

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

Me
My name is Greg Gaines. I am seventeen. I am the one who wrote this book. My physical appearance is unsatisfactory, and there is probably a fungus eating my brain. I’m not even sure I’m a human.
Earl
Earl Jackson is the only person who is even sort of my friend. We make mediocre films together. Werner Herzog is our biggest influence. Earl is generally filled with violent rage.
Dying Girl
During my senior year, my mom forced me to become friends with a girl who had cancer. This brought about the destruction of my entire life.

I don’t understand what people like about this book.

The story is about Greg, Earl and Rachel. Greg and Earl are friends (or something) and they make really bad films together. Greg and Rachel used to be friends, but they’ve drifted apart. Then, Rachel gets leukemia and Greg’s mother forces him to get in contact with her again. The story basically is about the three of them after Greg and Rachel get in contact again.

The story doesn’t have much to offer and I’ve skipped a lot of text. The writing style really bothered me and I was very annoyed by the author’s constant need to bring his own book down. If you’re going to write a book, don’t keep saying it’s shit and you understand if people put it down. It really makes me want to put it down and just stop reading.

The story also was shit. I’ve read better books about high school troubles or girls dying of cancer. I realise I might be missing a point here that the author wanted to make about some deeper connection or anything (or maybe I’m not missing anything at all and the book just really was that superficial), but I didn’t like it. At all.

The characters also couldn’t make me care about them. I don’t care if a character is a shitty person, if the story is written well, I’ll care about them. I didn’t care about Greg or Earl or Rachel or anyone. If I was in high school with Greg, I would have avoided him as much as possible. I don’t think he’s funny or a nice person at all. Earl might even be a nicer person than Greg is, especially considering the environment he lives in.

I realise this book isn’t a romantic book or a book that wants to make you go ‘Ahhw’. But still, since it has a four star rating on GoodReads, I was expecting something better than this.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: Me and Earl and the Dying Girl

  1. Pingback: 20. Read 100 books | imjustthisawesome

Leave a Reply

