Book Haul Boekenfestijn Utrecht (#7)

DSC_6131

Oops. I bought books again.

I hadn’t actually planned on buying these books, but last Sunday I went to the Boekenfestijn in Utrecht. Like last year, I was overwhelmed by how cheap the books were and the amount of English books that were displayed. Getting your hands on English books isn’t that hard in the Netherlands, but it’s a bit tough to get them for €2 per piece.

This year, I was on a bit of a budget. I don’t have a lot of money and I also had other plans to keep in mind, so I’d figured I could spend about €30. I think I spend €28 on thirteen books and one other thing (which I will tell you about another time). So, in total I paid €26.50 on thirteen books, which comes down to about €2.- per book and that’s hella cheap.

DSC_6128

This first book is the sequel to a book I bought last year. I bought Pride and Prejudice and Zombies then and this time I bought Pride and Prejudice and Zombies; Dreadfully Ever After. This book is part of a series in which classic books are turned into.. well, different books. For example, there’s Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters. Or Android Karenina. You get the drift. I didn’t see this book last year and I am glad it caught my eye this year.

DSC_6129

The next book is one I’ve already read. It’s The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald. I’ve read the book and even though I didn’t particularly like it, it’s a classic and I might want to read it again sometimes (probably right before or after seeing the movie), so it’s nice I finally own it. It’s also on the list of BBC’s Big Read.

DSC_6130

Philippa Gregory is a name I’ve laid eyes on many times while I was at Boekenfestijn. A lot of here books were displayed and it was a bit hard to decipher which books was the first in a series. I believe she’s written more than one series and the books aren’t sorted. So, I looked up on Goodreads which book was the first in a series and thus I ended up buying this book. I saw some more books from the same series, but since I was on a budget, I couldn’t buy them all.

DSC_6132

A series I did buy, is this one. These books are what the TV show True Blood is based upon (or the books are based on the TV show, I don’t know). It’s not the complete series, but they didn’t have any more books (and if they did, I don’t want to know because I would have wanted to buy them and now it’s too late).

DSC_6134

I have to admit that I am not a fan of the TV show (mostly because of the gap between Sookie’s teeth), but I have high hopes I will like the books. I definitely like the way they look already, so they’ve got that going for them which is nice.

DSC_6133

And on that note, I end this book haul! These books are all I’ve bought at Boekenfestijn and I think I should be proud of myself for not exceeding my budget. I am looking forward to reading these books, though I do have a problem with where to put them. My bookshelf has no space left any more and my room definitely hasn’t grown, so I can’t just put another shelf in. But ah well, I’ll think of something.

Leave a Reply

