Groningen!

2014-05-24 16.55.13

Martini tower!

About two weeks ago, I met up with some friends to go to Groningen. Groningen is the capital city of the region Groningen, which lies in the very north-west of The Netherlands.

So, that Saturday I woke up at six o’clock in the morning so I could be in Groningen at noon. Since I stayed the night at my parent’s, it took me five hours to get to Groningen, but it was well worth it. I had a lovely day and even though the weather threatened to be shit at the beginning, it cleared up after we had lunch.

2014-05-24 12.30.13

We were met with rain upon arrival in Groningen

I had been to Groningen before, though I hadn’t seen much of the city, so it was nice to look around and explore the city this time. Of course, I had to take some pictures of the Martini tower, the tower belonging to the Martini church. We didn’t visit the church (I had wanted to climb the tower, but remembering the tower I climbed in Zwolle made me reconsider), but the tower still stood out.

2014-05-24 14.14.22

De Korenbeurs

Another building that drew our attention, was this one: De Korenbeurs. Nowadays, a grocery store is located in it, but I’m sure the building has known ages when it was very important. It looks like that. And not only the outside was pretty,..

2014-05-24 14.18.00

The inside of De Korenbeurs

.. the inside was pretty impressive too! If you ignore the grocery store and look up to the ceiling, you can see it’s very high and obviously designed for something else than a grocery store.

2014-05-24 16.16.21

The Martini tower

After the Korenbeurs, we walked to the Martini tower. The tower belongs to a church, but as I said already, we didn’t feel like going inside. The tower is impressive (though I’ve been to Rome, so I’ve seen better, haha). After we admired the tower itself for a while, we moved on..

2014-05-24 14.21.49

The back of the Martini tower

..to the back of the church. This place had a very different feeling than the front had. More spooky and old, like time hadn’t happened. Besides that, it wasn’t very special, but I liked the feeling it gave off.

2014-05-24 14.23.14

Akerkhof!

For my Dutch viewers: Akerkhof! Monopoly! I wanted to take a picture of all three (four?) streets in Groningen, but I forgot, shame.
A thing I want to do sometime in the future, is to travel around in The Netherlands for a day and visit all cities mentioned in Monopoly and take a picture of at least one street from that city.

2014-05-24 14.25.33

A demonstration which came walking by

Right after I took the picture of the Akerkhof sign, this demonstration walked by. I had never seen a demonstration, so I was pretty fascinated. This demonstration was about bio food and the shit that’s put in our food nowadays. The main thing I noticed, is that almost all activists looked like hippies from the ’70s.

We walked around in Groningen for a while and visited the main street. Groningen is pretty okay to go shopping, though I live in Amsterdam and don’t necessarily have to go to Groningen to do so. One store a friend showed the rest of us, though, only has one establishment in the Netherlands: in Groningen.

2014-05-24 16.36.33

THE best Danish store

This is that shop! It is called Søstrene Grene and it’s a Danish store, with more establishments in Denmark and the rest of Scandinavia (and Germany). I guess you could compare the shop with Flying Tiger (which, thankfully, has an establishment in Amsterdam), but I think Søstrene Grene is a bit cheaper. I really liked this shop and next time I go to Groningen, I will definitely visit it again!

And that concludes my day in Groningen. I had a great time with my friends and I am looking forward to doing something like this again. Groningen is a very nice city and you could easily spend a day there, shopping and looking around.

 

One thought on “Groningen!

  1. Pingback: 83. Visit twelve new cities and take a picture of something defining that city | imjustthisawesome

Leave a Reply

