Review: We Were Liars

https://i2.wp.com/www-deadline-com.vimg.net/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/WeWereLiars__140612011956-575x883.jpg

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.

Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

I saw a lot of people on BookTube reading this book (probably thanks to it being the Booksplosion book of the month a few months ago) and I wanted to see what all the fuss was around. I noticed the book doesn’t have a lot of pages (my version only had 128 pages), so I figured it could read the entire book in one sitting.

The book was very interesting to read. It is about a wealthy family that goes to their island every summer. The family is one of those old and rich families, but they’re holding up a façade so the outer world doesn’t know about their hidden problems and their screwed-up relationships. The main character Cadence is the eldest grandchild and she talks about some of those summers, especially the one when ‘the accident’ happened and a few summers after.

I liked reading this book. I liked trying to find out what happened the summer of the accident (the summer of fifteen) and why she was treated so differently the next summers. The answer to the mystery isn’t revealed until the very end of the book and I never could have guessed it, it never even dawned on me that this could have been what has happened. I was pretty much in shock when I found out what had gone down in the summer of fifteen and I cried actual tears when I realised how terrible and horrifying it must have been. And after you’ve read what happened, slowly parts of the puzzle that were build up during the book start to fall into place. It was a really impressive ending to an already intriguing book.

But why not five stars, then? Well, because even though I really enjoyed reading the book, some parts I didn’t like as much. At some points I got really annoyed by the writing style, especially when the enter button was frequently violated. It think it’s fine to use some ‘special effects’,
but the
sentence kind of
gets lost on me
when typed like
this.

But since that really was the only complaint I can think of right now, I’m more than willing to still reward this book with the four stars I’ve given it.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: We Were Liars

  1. Pingback: 20. Read 100 books | imjustthisawesome

Leave a Reply

