Maastricht!

2014-10-04 14.40.13

Slowly but surely, I’m making my way through the twelve cities I want to visit before the Day Zero challenge is over. The latest city I explored, is Maastricht. It reminded me a lot of ‘s Hertogenbosch, with its small streets and quiet places that still seemed to breath of other times. It also reminded me of ‘s Hertogenbosch because I was accompanied by the same friend as before.

2014-10-04 11.53.00

When we arrived in Maastricht, the first thing we looked for was the VVV building. VVV is a Dutch organisation that provides information on a city you’re in. Most of the time, we don’t actually need to go to a VVV building because we’ve found a tour online or we know enough about the city to make it on our own. This time, though, we didn’t feel that way and so we decided on buying a walking tour that would take us through the city’s historical town centre.
2014-10-04 12.56.48

The tour lasted for about an hour and a half, but obviously you can spend as much time on it as you want to. I would recommend going through the trouble to buy a tour, because it’ll take you places you probably wouldn’t have discovered on your own. Without the tour, I doubt we’d have found the remains of the city walls or the quiet area around the Helpoort.
2014-10-04 12.27.47

All in all, I liked Maastricht! It was a lot more quaint than I expected, but I appreciated that. Amsterdam always seems to be in a rush and in Maastricht I kind of got the exact opposite feeling.
2014-10-04 12.19.31

One thought on “Maastricht!

  1. Pingback: 83. Visit twelve new cities and take a picture of something defining that city | imjustthisawesome

Leave a Reply

