Favourite 2014 songs

https://i1.wp.com/3voor12.vpro.nl/.imaging/stk/3voor12/zoom/media/3voor12/huisstijl/Song-van-het-jaar/songvanhetjaar/3voor12songvanhetjaar/original/3voor12songvanhetjaar.png

In the Netherlands, there’s this list on Radio 2. It’s a list containing the best music of all time and it’s broadcast every year between Christmas and New Year’s. The list is called the Top2000 and starting Christmas, it will count down from song number 2000 up to song number one, which is played just before midnight at New Year’s. Every year around the beginning of December, everybody can vote for the fifteen songs they think should be in the Top2000. I think I’ve voted for four years now and every time, I cast a vote for Bohemian Rhapsody by Queen. There’s a kind of battle going on between people who want Bohemian Rhapsody as number one and people who don’t. Most years, the people who do, win and I can happily sing/shout Bohemian Rhapsody right before the new year starts. This year, however, Bohemian Rhapsody has been usurped. Brutally killed and banished from its rightful place as number one on the Top2000. This year, The Eagles’ Hotel California is number one and I almost cried.

In a way to drown my sorrow, I decided to vote for another list; The song of the year 2014 by 3voor12. I was pleasantly surprised by the song choices they offered, I had forgotten about quite a few of these beauties. So, for my and your listening pleasure, I hereby present my top 10 songs of 2014, in no particular order.

Leave a Reply

