89.Get a tourist map of Amsterdam and mark my favorite places

2014-12-14 16.52.09

Click on the image to enlarge it and see it in more detail!

Even though I’ve lived in Amsterdam for nearly three years, I must admit that I don’t know that many places to go – besides the obvious Kalverstraat and different museums, of course. Most of the time, my friends and I meet up at the same places we’ve always met up at. It’s not a bad thing, but I would like to know more about the city I live in.

I don’t know yet how I’m going to discover these places, but I will try and fill up the map a bit more. Maybe ask some friends if they know some unknown shops or something. Wandering around also is great for discovering places you’ve never seen before, and I own a little box filled with walking routes for Amsterdam. Time to get walking, I guess.

2014-12-14 16.52.01Anyhow, I’ve bought a tourist map of Amsterdam and I want to mark my favourite places on it. Naturally, this includes my standard to-go-to places (like Genroku on Reguliersdwarsstraat for sushi and Pathé de Munt for movies), but I also want to add some more unknown or obscure places to it. I’ve found an Irish pub I like (O’Reilly’s behind Dam Square), and I know a nice sports café which has incredible no-limit spare-ribs for only €11 (Satellite, next to the Burger King at Leidseplein). But I want to add more places to my map, so that when I’m old and accidentally stumble upon it again, I can look at it and reminisce at all the places I used to visit when I was studying in Amsterdam.

2014-12-14 16.50.32The tourist map I bought can be found at the VVV shop in Amsterdam, right outside Amsterdam Central. It costs €2.50, which I think is fairly reasonable. It comes in a very cute little box, but the map itself is quite large when it’s folded out completely.

2 thoughts on “89.Get a tourist map of Amsterdam and mark my favorite places

  1. Pingback: Genroku | imjustthisawesome

  2. Pingback: Letters to 2015: April | imjustthisawesome

Leave a Reply

