The Hobbit trilogy

https://i2.wp.com/cdn.screenrant.com/wp-content/uploads/the-hobbit-movies.jpg

This year, about ten years after the last Lord of the Rings movie came out, the last part of the Hobbit trilogy was released in cinemas. Obviously, I had to go see it and so I went to the midnight release.

I enjoyed watching the last movie, just like I had enjoyed watching the two previous movies. I have to say, though, that all three movies have kind of merged together in my head, especially since I marathonned them. This is the same with Lord of the Rings; I could tell you all about the three movies, but I’d have a little trouble with extinguishing one part of the trilogy from the other.

(If you click ‘Continue reading’, be beware of spoilers!)

Speaking of Lord of the Rings, one thing that came up when I was talking to some friends about the two trilogies, is that Lord of the Rings was much darker and heavier than the Hobbit is. I have read the Hobbit, but haven’t read the Lord of the Rings trilogy yet, so I don’t know if it’s the same for the books. Nevertheless, when watching the movies, it’s very clear that the Hobbit is much lighter and overall happier than Lord of the Rings was (not to say that the Hobbit is a light and happy movie overall, because it isn’t. At the end of the day, a lot of damage and death occurs in the movies and it can’t easily be overlooked.)

As I mentioned earlier, I have read the Hobbit and I wanted to talk a bit about the comparison between the movies and the book.
The first thing to notice if you’ve read the book, is that it’s just a small book. I was really surprised when I heard there’d be three movies out made out of that one little book. If, like me, you’ve read the book and seen the movies, though, you’ll notice that a lot has been added to the movies. Presumably to be able to make it into three movies, which will earn more money (don’t even say that’s not one of the reasons), but probably also to give way to the Lord of the Rings trilogy.

I have to say that it’s been a while since I read the book and I probably don’t remember everything correctly, but I thought the book didn’t have as much scenes in Dol Gúldur as the movies have. The book definitely didn’t include Radagast the Brown in those scenes, that I know for sure. I believe I’ve heard someone say that he has a (small?) role in the Lord of the Rings books though, even though he wasn’t featured in the movies.
I also think the lady Galadriel wasn’t mentioned in the books, but as I said, I don’t exactly remember, so I could be wrong. One person definitely not mentioned in the book was Tauriel, but she turned out to be one of my favourite characters. I wasn’t a fan of the fleeting love-triangle that seemed to be happening between her, Kíli and Legolas, but luckily that was squished down quite quickly.

A thing that happened in the book and I was very glad they kept in the movies, were the deaths of Kíli, Fíli and Thorin in the Battle of the Five Armies. Before I had seen the movie, I was afraid they were going to change the ending to a happier one and keep them (or at least Thorin) alive, but I’m glad they stuck to the book. Obviously I’m not glad the three of them died, but it would have been quite a let-down if they miraculously survived.

In the end, I’m very happy with the way the three Hobbit movies turned out. Sometimes they stray pretty far from the book, other times they keep the story very close, but overall it’s a very nice trilogy and I will definitely be watching it again.

3 thoughts on “The Hobbit trilogy

  1. Nope. I have just read the book and Galadriel wasn’t mentioned in the book, neither was Sauron. That annoyed me a little bit about the movies, and as I found out from a friend, they used material from that other extra book simarilion.
    I still have to watch the 3rd Hobbit, but I wasn’t too enthused by the 2nd part, because haf of the movie was not even in the novel. I had high hopes for that 2nd part of the book, because it included my favorite parts while reading. The first Hobbit was quite good in my opinion. And I still want to watch the 3rd part, but I will curb down my hopes for that I think :D

    • Ah, I thought I heard something about another book by Tolkien! But I thought it was because they maybe wanted to make that one into a movie too and then it was cancelled. Seems quite logic now that they’ve used stuff from the Silmarilion.

      Yeah, I can understand why the second movie was a bit more meh. I also liked the first movie best (I especially liked the songs!) Maybe it’ll help to curb down your hopes for the third movie, so you don’t expect too much and then it’ll only turn out better.

      Have you read the Lord of the Rings books and if so, what did you think about them? Did they do a better job converting the books to movies?

      • Yes I have read the first and second lotr books. I just couldn’t move myself to read the third because they were quite a hard read, different from the hobbit which was an easy and fast-paced read. But apparently, the Hobbit is considered to be a children’s book and the lotr trilogy deals with more serious topics than the Hobbit. But as you already mentioned they have a darker theme than the hobbit although the movies were darker than the atmosphere of the book.
        In my opinion, the lotr movies are the best book to movie adaption I have ever seen. Maybe that’s because I haven’t enjoyed the books that much but that’s an opinion that a lot of people share :)

Leave a Reply

