Letters to 2015: January

Oh help, am I really starting this project? — It seems I am.

I got inspired to do a Letters to 2015 project when I read Eva’s post on her blog. She referenced her project to Emily Diana’s Letters to July, which I’ve also seen. However, since I’m a blogger and not a vlogger and I definitely won’t be able to keep a project up for a whole month, I decided to follow Eva’s lead and start a Letters to 2015 project. Every month (not necessarily on the first day, as you can see) I will post a letter to said month.

Dear January,

Here you are again. It’s been a while since I’ve seen you and every time you come back around, you bring changes with you. The most important one being changes in my age. Can you believe I’ll be turning twenty-two in a week?
I most definitely can’t.

It already feels so old, twenty-two, I’d much rather just stay twenty-one for a while longer.
But even though twenty-two feels so old, at the same time, I don’t feel old at all. Dear January, just last week I had to call my mum and ask what those things you use to make meat better are called (that’s breadcrumbs, my mum said after a laugh). I sometimes wonder if my older brother, who turned thirty last year, still has moments like that. Still moments in which he feels so small and helpless and just not grown-up. Every time I feel grown-up and confident, a moment like that comes around and just puts me down on the ground again.

But, dear January, you don’t just change my age. Most of the time, you also change my mind. January is the time to look ahead and think about what you want to achieve this year and what you want to change. I don’t normally use you for resolutions, January, because if you want to do something, why not do it right at that moment.
But you are still a perfect time to think about my academic future. Even though I’m in my fourth year of the study, I still don’t know what I want to be and what I want to do with my life. That’s normal, I guess. Almost twenty-two might feel old, but at that age, you’re not supposed to have your life planned out for you yet.
January, you are the perfect time to reflect on the past year and look ahead to the next year. I’ve thought long and hard this time and I have come to some conclusion which will hopefully help me go further. So thank you for that, January.

It’s strange that you’re almost over. It seems time flies, though I’m pretty sure that’s not just you. January, hopefully you’ll be a very nice start to a very nice year. I look forward to seeing you next year.

4 thoughts on “Letters to 2015: January

  1. Oh wat leuk dat je dit ook doet! :) Volgens mij voelt iedereen zich nog wel eens onvolwassen hoor, bijvoorbeeld mijn zus (die 32 is) nog steeds regelmatig naar mijn vader belt voor hulp bij het koken. No shame dus :p

  2. Pingback: Letters to 2015: January | Drown in melancholy

Leave a Reply

