Recipe: Mushroom Risotto

For a long while, I was only able to stare longingly at risotto recipes. They always scared me a little, as I had no idea how to go about making it. A while ago, though, I went to eat with a friend and she made risotto. I was stunned at how easy she made it seem (and at how delicious it was).

So, obviously, I had to try and make my own. My parents and little brother ‘volunteered’ (my mother accepted my offer to cook) to be my guinea pigs. Luckily for them, my risotto turned out to be just as tasty as my friends’ risotto was! Since then, I’ve also made it for a friend and she too liked it very much.

As I’m now a bit more confident in my risotto making skills, I will share the recipe with you. Heads up: it’s a very standard recipe, of which I’m sure you can find at least a dozen variations. Also, I forgot to take any pictures, but as it turns out, risotto is highly unsuited for pictures as it just looks extremely gross. Tastes delicious though!

What you’ll need (3-4 portions):

  • 2 large chicken filets
  • 1 garlic glove
  • 1 large red onion
  • 200 grams of green legumes
  • 1 red chili pepper (or heaped teaspoon of red chili pepper paste)
  • 300 grams of risotto rice
  • Half a glass of white wine
  • 250 grams of mushrooms
  • 1 liter chicken broth
  • Parmesan cheese
  • Olive oil

What you’ll need to do:

First, put the water and chicken broth into a pan and slowly bring it to the boil.

While the water is on the stove, cut the chicken filets into small-ish chunks (or whatever size you want them, really). Put some olive oil in a large pan and fry the chicken on low fire. Finely dice the garlic, red onion and chili pepper and add them to the chicken. Cut the green legumes and mushrooms. After a couple of minutes, add the green legumes to the chicken too. Keep frying the chicken and veggies until the chicken is cooked through.

Now add the risotto rice to the pan with the chicken and veggies. Add the white wine to the mixture. Grab a ladle and use it to transfer about two-three spoons of the chicken broth into the rice. Stir until the liquid seems dissolved. Keep doing this for twenty minutes, after which you’ll add the mushrooms. Keep keep adding the broth and stirring it in until you’ve run out of broth. This should take about ten minutes more.

When that’s done, add the parmesan cheese. It is really up to you how much cheese you want to add to your food. If you want to, you can always add more parmesan cheese on your plate, but make sure not to over-do it.

Transfer the pan to the table where you’ve set up your plates and enjoy your lovely, home-made dinner.

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Mushroom Risotto

  1. Pingback: 48. Learn to cook ten new recipes | imjustthisawesome

  2. Pingback: 72. Post at least ten recipes on my blog | imjustthisawesome

Leave a Reply

