Review: The Solitude of Prime Numbers

https://d.gr-assets.com/books/1425536116l/6613956.jpg

The Solitude of Prime Numbers by Paolo Giordano
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

A prime number can only be divided by itself or by one—it never truly fits with another. Alice and Mattia, both “primes,” are misfits who seem destined to be alone. Haunted by childhood tragedies that mark their lives, they cannot reach out to anyone else. When Alice and Mattia meet as teenagers, they recognize in each other a kindred, damaged spirit.
But the mathematically gifted Mattia accepts a research position that takes him thousands of miles away, and the two are forced to separate. Then a chance occurrence reunites them and forces a lifetime of concealed emotion to the surface.

I had only ever heard of the title before reading this book.

Not that that’s a bad thing, but I had absolutely no idea whatsoever what this book was about. None at all. So, when I began reading this book, it was quite a bit of a shock.

The story starts out heavily. It tells you about two major events in the lives of two children. In the rest of the book, you follow those children through a part of their teenage and later years. They meet each other in high school and even though (or maybe because of) they’ve got their respectable problems, they form some sort of friendship.

The first half of the book, I was very intrigued to read about Mattia and Alice. I wanted to know what was going to happen to them, how they were going to overcome some of the things happening to them. But as the book progressed, the novelty of the shocked feeling wore off and I just mainly kept on reading because I wanted to finish the book.

At the end of the book, things build up with the anticipation that something huge is going to happen.

And then it doesn’t.

I don’t know yet if I liked this book or not. I was definitely invested in the first half of it, but later on, I kind of lost my interest. The ending is very weak to me, but that’s just my vision on it (and I’m very open to people explaining their view to me). All in all I don’t regret reading this book and I think I can see why my friend recommended it to me, but I wouldn’t necessarily recommend it to anybody else.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

