Letters to 2015: April

Hi there, April!

I have high hopes for you, but, at the same time, also none at all. This month I will finish my master’s thesis and after that, I am free to do whatever until the end of August.  At first, I was very excited for that, but now I’m mostly scared. Scared that my days will be filled with nothing, doing nothing, achieving nothing.

I want to do more, April.

I had plans to travel around the Netherlands, visit some of the cities I still haven’t been. But in the time between April and August, I’m not officially a student and thus do not travel for free. That way, it could end up costing me quite a lot to travel to different cities in the Netherlands. I will have to see what I want to do about that.

I also have to be very aware that I won’t shit up my rhythm completely. I have a habit of staying up very late and coming out of bed after it’s been noon already if I have nothing to do for that day. This means I have to find a way to keep myself busy during the day.

And I have thought of multiple ways of keeping myself busy. I want to take up Spanish again, since I’ve been slacking. I also want to get more familiar with my cameras. I own a Nikon DSLR, but I have to admit that I’m still not sure what it can do (so I just use it on automatic, which is a shame). I’ve also got two very old school cameras (analogue cameras) from my parents and I would love to experiment with them a bit. I want to become a bit more familiar with Amsterdam, add more places to my map. I have go to running more, if I want to complete the 5K in June.

There’s a lot of things I want to do, April. I’m full of plans! I just need to get around to doing them and I hope I can use you, June, July and August for that. I sincerely hope that when I’m older, I’ll look back on the summer of ’15 and remember that I made the most of it.

Leave a Reply

