Cliffs of Moher

CLIFFS OF MOHER

My trip to Dublin also included a surprise visit to the Cliffs of Moher. I say surprise visit because I hadn’t anticipated this at all and hadn’t even heard of the Cliffs until the evening before. That evening was the pub crawl and I went with two girls I had met in the hostel. They were lovely girls and together with them and some other folks, I had an amazing evening/night. At the end of the evening, they asked me if I’d be interested in joining them the following day, when they would go and visit the Cliffs of Moher. Seeing as my plans were not set in stone, I decided I definitely wanted to join them!

So, at three at night, I ordered my ticket for the day tour and the next day at seven in the morning, we took of to the tourbus. The tour we went on, was organised by Paddywagon. We were sat in a coach and drove all the way over to the other side of Ireland (which is just two and a half hours, haha).

DSC_6669

The tour is called after the Cliffs of Moher, but you also visit a couple of other things. The first place you head to, is the small village of Kinvara.

DSC_6667

It has a castle nearby, but there was no time to visit the castle itself. Instead, we walked down to the harbour and took in the sights.

DSC_6677

After Kinvara, you head up to the hills and go for Corcomroe Abbey. It’s an old abbey where monks used to live, but it’s abandoned now. On the way over to the Abbey, our chauffeur told us about the hilly area.

DSC_6671

The hills are actually almost complete made of stone and it’s very hard to grow things there. When the tide comes up, the water has free reign over the lands. However, the sights are beautiful.

DSC_6687

Before we got to the Cliffs of Moher, we made a stop at the Baby Cliffs. These cliffs used to be on the bottom of the sea and that’s still visible in the way they are shaped. Lots of holes and weird shapes, so be careful where you step down.

DSC_6684

When we got to the Baby Cliffs, the weather was still working along with us, so it was beautiful and we got a lovely view of the open sea.

DSC_6703

However, when we finally arrived at the Cliffs of Moher, it was very misty. We were able to see where the Cliffs meet the sea, but we weren’t able to distinguish a horizon. Still, the Cliffs were very impressive. After hanging around the main area for a while, we decided to hike up a path for a bit. The path was right at the edge, so we definitely didn’t want to misstep and fall down.

DSC_6714

The Cliffs of Moher were the end of the tour. We stopped at a place to eat after this, but that was it. Our chauffeur (who was great entertainer and could tell us a lot about our surroundings) drove us back to Dublin. I have to admit that I slept for most of the way back, haha.

DSC_6708

That was my day of visiting the Cliffs of Moher! We left at seven in the morning and got back around eight at night, so it truly was a day out! I would highly recommend you book this tour too, as I had an amazing time and have seen the most beautiful views. I know that I absolutely want to return to Ireland and see more of the country!

Leave a Reply

