Letters to 2015: September

Hi there, September!

You know, I realise I was very lucky with the weather during my trip to the UK. However, it would be so nice if you could take an example to your colleague August and try to give us a least a little bit of sun. So far, you’re pretty much only giving us rain and storm and I would like it very much if I could cycle to work without arriving soaking wet.

Anyhow, I reckon it might actually be out of your control. We’ll deal with the bad weather, then, since you’re also bringing us closer to the festive months. I always start looking forward to Christmas when the supermarkets start carrying pepernoten again. Pepernoten (or, actually, kruidnoten, but everyone calls them pepernoten) are a Dutch festive treat. Every year, we collectively complain that they’re arriving way too early (‘It’s only September and the pepernoten are in stores already. I swear, next year they’ll be here by June!’) and we still buy them by the masses.

September, you’ve brought quite the change for me. I’ve officially started my internships (and even finished the first one successfully by now). My day-to-day life has changed significantly from the last year, when I almost didn’t have any early mornings at all. It’s been pretty rough on me and I am exhausted most days when I get home. I hope I get used to it a bit more, because I’m pretty much out of it after 5pm, which is ridiculous.

So, yeah, September. We’re nearing the ending of the year already, who would’ve thought. I am looking forward to the darker days, maybe even some snow and ice. I love proper winters, especially if I get to dress in a lot of layers. I have always been more suited for winters than for summers, to be honest. You’re always a nice transition month to get me there (though, really, the rain is not necessary!).

This is it, for now, September. I hope to see you again next year. Who knows where I’ll be and what I’ve done by that time, it’s a whole year from now. I would love to be able to tell you that I’ve travelled a lot more, but I guess we’ll just have to wait and see what the future brings. See you next year!

Leave a Reply

