64. Make home-made pesto

2015-10-27 18.35.47

Since my first time trying pasta pesto, I’ve become sort of addicted. It’s so ridiculously easy to make and takes very little time. I’m a bit picky about what kind of pesto I want to use, though. I love myself some pesto, but I don’t really like  the bottled ones.

It’s almost no effort to make a delicious pesto at home, so that’s what I’ve been doing. And while I’m pretty sure you can get the best pesto recipes just by Googling a bit, I still want to share this one with you. It’s based of the recipe by Jamie Oliver, but I always kind of guess the proportions.

Some things you’ll definitely need, are:
Pine nuts
Fresh basil
Olive oil
Garlic
Parmesan cheese
Lime juice
Salt
Pepper

2015-10-27 18.36.01

I use about 75 grams of pine nuts, since that’s what’s in the package. However, I always keep some apart to throw in my pasta at the end. So, I’d say, use about 50 grams.
I also use a big glove of garlic, a good glug (and then some more) extra virgin olive oil and freshly squeezed juice of one lime. The cheese I cheap out on, though, since I buy the ..probably not very good quality in a container. I like the way it tastes, though. However, if you don’t mind the price, but the real Parmezan cheese you need to grate yourself.

As for basil: at most Dutch you can buy a potted plant of basil. I think this is common in more countries, though. If not, get your hands on a big bunch of basil, because you’re gonna stuff your food processor with it.

2015-10-27 18.45.02

As you can see, I use a food processor. I don’t think you can skip out on that, since you need to make a paste-like consistency. However, they’re probably not that expensive and I promise you, you’re gonna use it for a lot of other things too! (like homemade guacamole).

The only thing left to do is give your food processor a few pulses until you’re happy with the consistency and you’re done. Add salt and pepper (or anything of the other ingredients) until you’re happy with the taste and enjoy your freshly made pesto!

 

One thought on “64. Make home-made pesto

  1. Pingback: 72. Post at least ten recipes on my blog | imjustthisawesome

Leave a Reply

