Letters to 2015: November

Hiya November!

I thought you were supposed to bring colder weather, but I still don’t need my scarf or gloves. I’m hoping you’re gonna improve on that, Nov, because I’m really counting on the colder weather to get me in a festive mood. I have absolutely no problems with starting the holidays a month earlier, haha. I (as most people, I think) love the holidays and can’t wait for them to arrive.

It’s strange to think you’re one of the lasts months I’ll be writing. After this it’s just December and then it’s done. Then I’ve written to all the months of 2015. Weird, that it’s almost been a year since I’ve started this project. I still think it’s weird that I’ve got this blog up and running for almost three years now. That’s the longest I’ve ever managed to keep a blog somewhat up to date.

November, you’re also a months of decisions and planning. I want to do an internship in Ireland and I have to check with my study advisors if that’s possible and how I should begin to organise that. I keep pushing it forward, but I really should start planning and organising that already. I’ve also got to decide if I can keep my side job. My current internship only require me to attend on the weekdays, but after this, I also get evening, night and weekend shifts. I don’t know if I can muster up the energy to keep my side job next to that. Ugh. Decisions.

I think the festive months are always busy times, but I feel it extra this time. I’ve just got so many things planned and I love it, but I have to remember to keep some time to myself. A friend of mine reminds me of this every once in a while, that it’s important to keep your own sanity in mind. She’s completely right, of course. But I just feel that I want to do so much and I don’t want to miss out on anything.

I actually read about that, now that I’m thinking about it. It was genuinely called FOMO (Fear Of Missing Out). It’s the idea that people (mostly of my/our generation) are in fear of missing out on things and therefore take on way too much, leading to stress and anxiety. I don’t think it’s come that far with me yet, but I do think it’s something to keep in mind.

Anyway, November. I’m hoping you’re gonna bring good times and I’m looking forward to 2016 (oh my god 2016 what it feels like 2006 was five years ago)

Leave a Reply

