13. Get rid of 50 things

The idea behind this is something I’ve seen a lot. We live in a society that’s based on capitalism and consumerism. When I was travelling in the UK last year, I realised how much I took with me that I didn’t really need. I had things with me that I didn’t use once over the course of two and a half week.

That, and some videos/blogposts from other people, made me realise I want to get rid of 50 things. Not just garbage or other rubbish, but things that I’ve owned for a long time, but don’t need or use at all. This could be books, DVD, clothes. Anything that’s still got value and I can get rid off (by which I mean, give it to friends and/or charity). I like watching and reading about people cleaning out their closets/rooms with the KonMari method, but I don’t think that’s for me. I think I’m too sentimental for that kind of rigorous cleaning. However, I am really getting into this idea of living more minimalistic, so I am willing to try and own less stuff.

In this blogpost I will keep track of a list containing 50 things I’ve gotten rid of.

  1. Fancy colouring pencils
  2. Stack of rewritable CD’s
  3. Ikea Helmer drawer block
  4. Clothes
  5. Books
  6. More clothes
  7. Even more clothes
  8. Playstation 2
One thought on “13. Get rid of 50 things

Leave a Reply

