14. Buy some kind of Polaroid like camera (like the Instax)

For my birthday, my parents gave me the Instax Mini 8. I wanted to get this camera for a while already, so it was basically the perfect gift. Since my birthday was back in January, I’ve had the chance to play around with it a bit so far. In this post, I’ll tell you a bit about the camera, the photos, the costs and whether I actually really like owning this Polaroid-like camera.

My parents bought the camera at Hema, a Dutch shop, but the Instax is available at a lot of other sites too. Just a quick search on Google should help you along. The prices vary a bit, though it’s generally around €60-70. The photos are relatively expensive, especially when you compare it to ordering digital photos. Hema offers 2×10 glossy photos for €15, which isn’t even that bad of a deal. A good search on eBay might be able to provide a slightly better deal. eBay also offers photos with fun or cute borders, while Hema only offers the regular plain ones.

Naamloos

Since the photos are quite expensive, I’ve been careful with taking them. I also give away a picture when I take one with friends, since I think that’s only fair and I don’t mind, really. However, I didn’t take this camera with me on my Ireland trip, since I didn’t think I’d actually use it a lot on the landscapes. I don’t know if that’s going to change or if I will keep using it mainly for social photos.

As far as the actual picture-taking, it’s very simple. Just set the rotating circle on the situation you’re in (outside, inside, whatever else it offers) and take the picture. I’ve read that you can experiment a bit with the way the picture comes out (leave it in the sun for more exposure, that kind of stuff) but I’m still a bit to cautious to do any of that.

DSC_7003-2

All in all, I am very happy with my camera. I don’t use it as often as I would like to yet, but I think that’ll come once the novelty wears off a bit more. I do absolutely like the concept of a Polaroid camera. I’ve already had strangers comment their surprise on seeing me use such an old concept and generally a fun conversation follows. Also, while not my doing, Hilde also got an Instax camera for her birthday! I can definitely see us going somewhere while fussing around on our fancy cameras!

DSC_7005-2

Leave a Reply

