Brussels!

P1010810.jpg

A few weeks ago, I went to visit a friend of mine in Brussels. She’s currently staying there for her studies and asked me if I would like to come by. I did, so after a three hours bus ride, I arrived in Brussels.

p1010808

Of course we had to see some of the tourist attractions of the city, so we went to see Manneken Pis and the Atomium. We also did some shopping, though I would highly advise against visiting the Primark in Brussels. It’s so FUCKING busy,  unbelievable.

p1010811

Even though I really applaud Brussels for its lovely food and many fine restaurants, going grocery shopping was ridiculously expensive. I realise The Netherlands is a cheap country to go grocery shopping, but hell. It really is a good thing there’s so many not necessarily expensive places to eat out, because staying in would cost a fortune.

p1010814

During my visit, we went to the Beer museum and the Chocolate museum. The Beer museum wasn’t really any good, but the Chocolate museum gave a little show about how to make pralines (with a tasting a the end), so that was one we thoroughly enjoyed. However, I’m sure Brussels had a lot more museums to offer and I would have liked to visit more of them, I think.

p1010816

However, I don’t think I will be visiting Brussels again. Even though I liked being there with my friend, I didn’t really enjoy the city that much. On every street, soldiers with automatic guns were walking around. I understand why, with the recent attacks on Brussels, but it didn’t make me feel any safer. There’s also a lot of homeless people on the streets, something I’m not really that used to (even while living in Amsterdam).

All in all, I did have a good time in Brussels. I liked visiting my friend who I hadn’t seen in a long time. However, the city didn’t really do it for me. It’s the first city I feel this strongly about (even though Birmingham is a solid second), but it is also why I think I won’t enjoy Paris. I think I would definitely want to visit Brugge again, though, because maybe a slightly smaller city is better fit for me.

2 thoughts on “Brussels!

  1. Pingback: 76. Go on at least two vacations abroad – imjustthisawesome

Leave a Reply

