About books and movies (#12)

No, it definitely hasn’t been 10 months since my last update. What on earth are you talking about.

Anyway.

I’ve read some books. I’ve watched some movies. Here we go.

Salt to the Sea

The first book I would like to talk about, is Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys. I haven’t watched Booktube in a long, loooong time, so I don’t know if this book was hyped or not, but it definitely would have deserved it. It’s about several people during the Second World War, all telling the story from their perspective. The book is based on true events of the MV Wilhelm Gustloff. I hadn’t heard about this ship before, but I can imagine it’s more well-known around the Baltic Sea. Anyway, the book is refreshing in the sense that it’s about a different part of the Second World War, but it is still definitely a book telling the story of one of the biggest wars of all time, so it’s not a light as you might think. I really enjoyed reading it.

The Handmaid's Tale

The second book I read was the Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood. Even though I don’t keep up with Booktube anymore, I did see this book here and there on social media, so I know it’s been talked about. It’s a bit of a different view on the dystopian books that have gotten so much attention the past few years. I liked reading the book, but the concept of the book was very scary. It’s shows you how easily a society can change and how little one might be able to do against it. I know they’ve also made a series from this book and I’m very curious to see it.

One of the movies I watched, was Demain tout commence. A French movie, with the same actor from Intouchable: Omar Sy. I liked the trailer and went to see the movie on a whim, which turned out to be a very good decision. The movie has some very interesting plot twists in it, ones I definitely did not expect. I am not ashamed to say that I was teary-eyed at the end of this movie. Nonetheless, it also has a lot of humor and fun moments in it, even though in it’s essence it’s not a funny movie. I don’t think it’s still showing in cinemas, but I would definitely recommend watching this movie.

The other movie I want to talk about is Hidden Figures. I also wanted to go and see this movie after seeing the trailer. It’s a very important movie, about the role of black women in the NASA vs Russia race to space. Not only that, but it also shows a lot of ways black people were -and still are, let’s be real here- discriminated against. I am a white woman, and I will never experience racism aimed against me, but I do think it’s very important to go and see movies like this, so that I will realise how it used to be and how long we’ve also still got to go. The movie isn’t a heavy movie, though. It was a lot easier to watch than Moonlight was, and it also was very fun too. I would absolutely love to see it again.

 

One thought on “About books and movies (#12)

Leave a Reply

