New Day Zero List

On October 26th 2023, my old Day Zero list ended. I knew this was coming, of course, so I had a new one ready to start at October 27th 2023.

Having over a decade of experience with compiling Day Zero lists by now, I’ve tried to come up with a realistic one. To be fair, they’ve all been more realistic than my first list. One of the goals on that one was to visit all continents. Save to say I didn’t manage that. Also save to say, I’ve never put that list online. However, I’ve still never been able to fully complete a Day Zero list. Not that that’s necessarily my goal, but I do still want to give it my best. So, I’ve once more come up with 101 goals to accomplish before July 24th 2026.

PERSONAL ACHIEVEMENTS

  1. Donate blood
  2. Get another tattoo
  3. Get halfway to my goal weight
  4. Get to my goal weight
  5. Maintain my goal weight
  6. Write down one daily thing I’m grateful for during one month
  7. Save up 10K
  8. Save up 15K
  9. Challenge myself to live on a strict budget for a month
  10. Pay off my one debt

HEALTH AND MOVEMENT

  1. Walk 7.000 steps every day for a month
  2. Complete a ‘Walk to Mordor’ challenge
  3. Run 5K
  4. Run 10K
  5. Keep up running 5K for at least three consecutive months
  6. Finish the Midzomernachtcross at least once
  7. Invest in some good quality running shoes
  8. Continue going to the gym at least twice a week

HOME AND HOUSE

  1. Clear out my closer twice a year (spring and autumn) and donate any clothes I no longer wish to keep
  2. Buy a new bed and change the look of my bedroom
  3. Place a new floor in the attic room that currently has carpet
  4. Paint the attic room and give the room a make-over
  5. Paint the hallway on the second floor
  6. Have the attic window replaced with a new window
  7. Have the bathroom window replaced with a new window
  8. Install the new terrace in the backgarden
  9. Grow my own fruits and vegetables in my garden
  10. Keep my houseplant collection alive

BOOKS

  1. Read 50 books
  2. Read five books in Dutch
  3. Read two non-fiction books
  4. Read a self-help book
  5. Read at least five books with LGBTQ+ representation
  6. Read at least five books from BIPOC authors
  7. Read a biography of a notable woman in history
  8. Read at least twenty books currently on my shelves
  9. Sort out my books and donate the books that I no longer want to keep

MOVIES AND TELEVISION

  1. Watch 100 movies
  2. Watch ten movies in the cinema
  3. Watch five movies that are not spoken in Dutch or English
  4. Watch a movie from every year I’ve been alive
  5. Watch 26 movies I’ve never seen, starting with each letter of the alphabet
  6. Host a Lord of the Rings marathon
  7. Watch three Oscar-winning movies from 1993
  8. Watch three documentaries
  9. Watch a documentary or movie about women’s history
  10. Watch a tv series that’s not spoken in Dutch or English

FOOD RELATED

  1. Try five new restaurants
  2. Try three dishes (either in restaurants of homecooked) I’ve never tried before
  3. Cook a recipe out of every cookbook I own
  4. Cook my way through a cookbook (allowed to skip any ‘basics’ at the start)
  5. Cook a new recipe every month
  6. Learn to make ravioli
  7. Make someone a birthday cake
  8. Bake and decorate sugar cookies with my niece and/or nephew
  9. Host a cocktail evening with my friends
  10. Host a dinner party with my friends
  11. Go vegetarian for at least a month
  12. Don’t drink alcohol for a month
  13. Drink 50 different beers

INVOLVES TRAVELLING

  1. Visit five countries
  2. Visit Iceland
  3. Visit Portugal
  4. Visit Edinburgh and go to Dean’s Village
  5. Complete the A-Z travel challenge
  6. Go on a road trip
  7. Drive along (part of) the Wild Atlantic Way
  8. Walk (part of) the West Highland Way
  9. Go on a longer hike with Andra in the Netherlands
  10. See the Northern Lights again
  11. Go on a trip with Andra
  12. Go on a trip with Alieke
  13. Go on a trip with Mirte
  14. Visit Dennis’ tiny piece of land in England with the friend group
  15. Go on a citytrip with my father
  16. Go on a trip with my mother
  17. Visit a Christmas market with my mom
  18. Take my niece and/or nephew to Sprookjeswonderland in Enkhuizen
  19. Go to an aquarium with my niece and/or nephew
  20. Go to a zoo with my niece and/or nephew

HOBBIES AND MISCELLANEOUS

  1. Go to five different museums
  2. Go to at least three concerts
  3. Host a gamenight for my friends
  4. Go apple picking
  5. Follow an online course for any subject
  6. Learn more about the pagan history of the Netherlands
  7. Learn to locate all 50 US states on a map
  8. Do a legit Spanish course with NHA or a different organisation
  9. Read a book in Spanish
  10. Accomplish a 1-year streak on Duolingo
  11. Accomplish a 2-year streak on Duolingo
  12. Take a pottery course to learn to make my own planters
  13. Learn how to crochet
  14. Crochet a blanket with granny squares
  15. Crochet a bag for a my crochet stuff
  16. Crochet little animals for my niece and nephew
  17. Make a piece of clothing for myself
  18. Figure out what to do with my blog
  19. Actually own my own domain for my blog
  20. Improve the layout of my blog to something I’m actually happy with
  21. Finish writing another 101 things list by the end of 1001 days

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.